Yahoo!

Frequently Asked Questions

Why do I see my profile information during OpenID log in?
Why should I share my profile?
What are the sites where I can share my Yahoo profile during Yahoo OpenID log in?
What profile information is shared?
Why did you decide on sharing these fields?
Can I change the information being shared?
Will my most up-to-date profile information be shared every time I log into a third-party site?
Will my Yahoo Profile be synchronized with a third-party site automatically after initial sharing during Yahoo OpenID login?
Do I need to share my profile to log into the site that I want to visit?
What if I want to share the profile card once and never again?
Will my account at the third-party site be affected if Yahoo stops sharing my profile when I log into the third-party site?

Why do I see my profile information during OpenID log in?

We are currently testing the ability for Yahoo OpenID users to share their Yahoo Profiles with select sites. You will not see the profile sharing option on every site you log in with your Yahoo OpenID.

Why should I share my profile?

The choice to share your profile is up to you. You can still sign into a third-party site without sharing your profile. However, sharing your profile, may make the registration process on a thrid-party site easier.

What are the sites where I can share my Yahoo profile during Yahoo OpenID log in?

We are currently testing the ability to share your Yahoo profile on a limited number of sites. Once testing has completed successfully, we hope to open up this functionality to all sites that support OpenID Simple Registration.

What profile information is shared?

The specific fields can be shared during OpenID login are: Full Name, Nickname, Yahoo Email Address, Gender, Time Zone, and Language. You can view your profile information by visiting http://profiles.yahoo.com when you are signed into Yahoo.

Why did you decide on sharing these fields?

There is an OpenID specification called Simple Registration (http://openid.net/specs/openid-simple-registration-extension-1_1-01.html). These fields are a subset from the overall Simple Registration list.

Can I change the information being shared?

Yes, you can change it by visiting http://profiles.yahoo.com and modifying your Yahoo Profile. Your updated Yahoo Profile is then available for use with OpenID login for eligible sites.

Will my most up-to-date profile information be shared every time I log into a third-party site?

Yes, we will show you a profile card with up-to-date Yahoo Profile information for you to share during login to a third-party site.

Will my Yahoo Profile be synchronized with a third-party site automatically after initial sharing during Yahoo OpenID login?

No, sharing your Yahoo Profile only happens when you select "Share and Continue" during the Yahoo OpenID login. There is no other synchronization between Yahoo and a third-party site.

Do I need to share my profile to log into the site that I want to visit?

No, you can continue to log into OpenID-enabled sites without explicitly sharing your profile. You can do this by selecting "Don't Share and Continue."

What if I want to share the profile card once and never again?

This is not a problem. Sharing your profile data with a third-party site makes registration easier, but you can still sign into the third-party site without sharing your profile. If you have already registered at the third-party site and decide to share your profile later, then the third-party site might update your registration information or decide to not act on the data from Yahoo. Every third-party site has its own policies.

Will my account at the third-party site be affected if Yahoo stops sharing my profile when I log into the third-party site?

If Yahoo decides to turn off profile sharing, there should be no effect on users who have already created their accounts on the third-party sites.